Posted on

The Big Show first to judge


luigimarshall, [email protected]

The Big Show first to judge

Social Share

THE BIG SHOW will be the first tent to face the judges in the upcoming Crop Over calypso season.
That was determined on Wednesday, when tent managers made the draw for judging dates. Judging in the tents begins on Thursday, June 30.
This year, 12 tents have registered with the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) to participate in the Pic-O-De-Crop and Party Monarch competitions. The number includes the Tornadoes and Celebrity tents which make their return after a short hiatus.  
Commenting on the preparations for the 2011 season, managers said that the work to select and register their calypsonians was well underway. Although none confirmed the venues for their judging, they hastened to state that this year’s material is so compelling that patrons can be assured that wherever they pitch tent, that is the venue to attend, because of exciting line up and quality of entertainment.
Responding to the requests from the tent managers, the NCF has moved the Pic-O-De-Crop semi-finals back to the gymnasium of the Garfield Sobers Sports Complex on Friday, July 22. Also returning to this venue is the Scotiabank Junior Calypso Monarch competition, which will be staged on Saturday, July 23.
DATES:
Thursday, June 30 – The Big Show
 Friday, July 1 – The Kingdom of Super Gladiators
 Sunday, July 3 –  Cave Shepherd All Stars
 Monday, July 4 – Celebration Time Calypso Tent
  Tuesday, July 5 – The Experience Tent
 Wednesday, July 6 – Stray Cats
Thursday, July 7 –  Headliners
Friday, July 8 –  Partee People
Saturday, July 9 – Bacchanal Time
Monday, July 11 – Tornadoes
Tuesday, July 12 – Celebrity
Wednesday, July 13 – House of Soca

LAST NEWS