• Today
    June 05

  • 04:57 AM

Bayley’s, St Stephen’s clash in final today

EZRA STUART, ezrastuart@nationnews.com

Added 02 December 2019


Shai Thorne (left) from Bayley’s and St Stephen’s Joshua Babb are in the line-ups for today’s primary schools’ cricket final. (Pictures by Kenmore Bynoe)

Six-time champions Bayley’s will be hunting a fourth consecutive title and seventh overall when they oppose first-time finalists St Stephen’s in today’s final of the Guardian Group Herman Griffith Primary Schools Cricket Competition at Empire Club, Bank Hall, from 10:30 a.m.

Bayley’s, who won all eight of their matches this year, have been unbeaten in the competition since the 2015 final when they lost to Wesley Hall.

On the other hand, St Stephen’s will be hoping to create history by winning their first cricket title after defeating Selah in their semi-final by 42 runs.

St Stephen’s have six wins this year but their only loss this year was to Good Shepherd, ironically the team Bayley’s defeated in the semi-finals by ten runs.

Bayley’s will be depending heavily on the all-round skills of captain Damarko Wiggins, Shai Thorne and Jayden Chase, with support from Javontye Norville, off-spinner Ramiro Stoute and eight-year-old leg-spinner Javion Batson, who has 17 wickets.

St Stephen, who are led by Shaka Alleyne, will be hoping ten-year-old pacer Joshua Babb replicate his semi-final bowling heroics when he bagged six wickets for just 12 runs.

Babb will be playing at the familiar venue as he is a member of the Empire Club’s Under-13 squad. His bowling support should come from Chreston Skeete while Rakhio Paul is also expected to feature with bat and ball. (EZS)  


BAYLEY’S (from): Damarko Wiggins (captain), Javontye Norville, Jayden Chase, Shai Thorne, Ramiro Stoute, Javion Batson, Shawnico Sargeant, Zachary Carrington, Marcus Griffith, Khailan Harewood, Tyraro Hinkson, Shacobi Gittens, Aedan Jordan, Zyerie Kellman, Shaquan Mason, Dhaniram Dharanmedo, Latrell Parris, Michael Cossey, Matthew Greenidge.

P.E. Teacher/scorer: Elvis Goodman. Coaches - Ronald Greenidge, Winfield Forde, Eric Bynoe, Andrew Best.

ST STEPHEN’S (from): Shaka Alleyne (captain), Joshua Babb, Rakhio Paul, Jadan Jordan, Ijae Warde, Romario Thorpe, Emanie Stuart, Jarad Lewis, Christon Skeete, Kai Lovell, Josiah Forde, Razeek Trotman, Joshua McCallister, Rwarze Boyce.

P.E. Teacher: Jeremy Browne. Coaches: Ryan Paul, Richard Lorde. Scorer: Liena Babb.

Umpires: Clyde Alleyne, Winston Seale. Reserve: Lester Millington.


Dos and Donts

Welcome to our discussion forum here on nationnews.com. We encourage lively debate, but we also urge you to take note of the following:

  • Stay on topic – This helps keep the thread focused on the discussion at hand. If you would like to discuss another topic, look for a relevant article.
  • Be respectful – Meeting differences of opinion with civil discussion encourages multiple perspectives and a positive commenting environment.
  • Do not type in capitals – In addition to being considered “shouting” it is also difficult to read.
  • All comments will be moderated – Given the volume of comments each day, this may take some time. So please be patient.
  • We reserve the right to remove comments – Comments that we find to be abusive, spam, libellous, hateful, off-topic or harassing may be removed.
  • Reproduction of comments – Some of your comments may be reproduced on the website or in our daily newspapers. We will use the handle, not your email address.
  • Do not advertise – Please contact our Advertising Department.
  • Contact our Online Editor if you have questions or concerns.
  • Read our full Commenting Policy and Terms of Use.
comments powered by Disqus


Are you satisfied with the way the Government of Barbados has handled the COVID-19 public health crisis here?