Posted on

Foster out front on points

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Social Share

AS THE third season of the Radio Operated Auto Racers (ROAR) draws to a close, drivers were at their best last Sunday trying to gain as many points as possible with a hope of securing a spot on the championship podium on September 19.
In the first race of the 1:8 Off Road “Modified” class, Matthew “Left Ball” Whitney, with his Whitney’s Trucking/Wadman Brothers-sponsored Mugen MBX 6 buggy, blew away his competition on the Garfield Sobers Raceway.
He recorded a well deserved win from Ryan “Daisy” Hill’s well-tuned Team Xray XB 808 and Scott Foster with his Plastic Repair Centre/Wildlife Reserve-sponsored Hot Bodies D8.
He came back strongly in the second race and narrowly won a keenly contested race between himself and Chris Wadman with the Wadman Brothers-sponsored Team Xray XB 808.
The lead was exchanged no less than eight times, which thrilled the crowd. Hill managed to hold on for third position.
The final race of this class proved to be a true scorcher when Wadman led the race from start to finish and in so doing, broke the lap record, posting a time of 29.30 seconds.
Hill, despite being teased and waited upon by Wadman, drove consistently to capture second, while Foster secured the third spot.
In the 1:8 Off Road “Open” class, Luke Stuart with his Natural Medicinals Inc.-sponsored Team Losi 8ight, made light work of his only competitor, Richard Gamble with his Team Xray XB 8, winning all three of his races.
With only one race day left, Foster leads the points in the “modified” class with 120. Wadman is in second position with 106, while Hill and Whitney have 85 and 80, for third and fourth positions, respectively.
Richard Gamble leads the “Open” class with 70 points, Stuart is in  close second position with 65 and Austin Garner third with 41.
Brian “Poolman” Taylor, with his JBR Pools-sponsored Mugen MTX 4R leads the 1:10 On Road class with 115 points.
Racing will resume at the Garfield Sobers Raceway on September 19 from 2 a.m., with a trophy presentation after. (PR)