Posted on

Top tennis players reap rewards

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Top tennis players reap rewards

Social Share

The top performing tennis players in the recently concluded Fortress/Nassco Junior Tennis tournament were rewarded for their hard work on Friday evening in a ceremony at the National Tennis Centre.
Prizes were presented to the overall winners in the respective categories. In the boys’ division, Joshua Worme won the Under-12 singles and Yannick Polanen the runner-up. Gavin Hutchinson took the Under-14 singles and Andrew Symmonds finished second.
Dylan Hall was twice a winner, taking both the Under-16 and Under-18 singles, with Gregory Hinkson and Craig St Hill, the respective runners-up.
Summarised scores:
Girls Under-12:
Final: Akayla Agard def Jamie Lewis 8-6
Final: Melena Lopez def Cherise Slocombe 6-1, 6-2
Semi: Melena Lopez def Kiana Marshall 6-2, 6-2
Semi: Cherise Slocombe def Michaela Batson 6-1, 7-6
Final: Kiana Marshall/Melena Lopez def Cherise Slocombe/Michaela Batson 6-1, 6-2
Amelia Allen/Ilana Blackwood def Symphony Griffith/Jamie Lewis 4-2, 5-3
Cherise Slocombe/Michaela Batson def Amelia Allen/Ilana Blackwood 4-0, 4-1
Kiana Marshall/Melena Lopez def Akayla Agard/Holly Sumpter 4-0, 4-1
Final: Samiya Dottin def Symphony Griffith 6-0, 6-2
Semi: Symphony Griffith def Holly Sumpter 3-6, 6-3, 6-0
Final:  Samiya Dottin/Holly Sumpter def Amelia Allen/Symphony Griffith 6-4, 6-2
Final: Melena Lopez def Samiya Dottin 6-1, 7-5
Semi: Melena Lopez def Kiana Marshall 6-2, 6-0
Boys Under-12:
Final: Yannick Polanen def Gabriel Taylor 8-0
Semi: Yannick Polanen def Joshua Worme 8-6
Semi: Gabriel Taylor def Joshua Mayers 8-3
Joshua Mayers def Nicholas Charles 8-4
Final: Yannick Polanen/Joshua Worme def Gabriel Taylor/Xavier Lawrence 8-4
Semi: Yannick Polanen/Joshua Worme def Nicholas Charles/Asher Wiltshire w/o
Semi: Gabriel Taylor/Xavier Lawrence def Callum Sumpter/Colby Cutting 8-1
Final: Gavin Hutchinson def Brandon Lee 3-6, 6-0, 6-0
Semi: Brandon Lee def Jed Taylor 6-0, 6-2
Semi: Gavin Hutchinson def Simon Lewis 6-0, 3-6, 7-5
Final: Brandon Lee/Andrew Symmonds def Simon Lewis/Ajani King 6-0, 7-6
Semi: Brandon Lee/Andrew Symmonds def Yannick Polanen/Jed Taylor 4-1, 4-1
Semi: Simon Lewis/Ajani King Joshua Worme/Gavin Hutchinson def 4-5, 4-2, 10-8
Final: Dylan Hall def Brandon Lee 6-0, 2-1 (ret)
Semi: Dylan Hall def Ajani King 6-0, 6-0
Semi: Brandon Lee def Simon Lewis 3-6, 7-6, 6-0
Final: Simon Lewis/Ajani King def Zayne Hall/Gregory Hinkson 6-3, 4-6, 10-5
Semi: Simon Lewis/Ajani King def Brandon Lee/Renaldo Banfield 6-3, 6-1
Semi: Zayne Hall/Gregory Hinkson def Andrew Symmonds/Gavin Hutchinson 6-4, 6-4
Final: Dylan Hall def Craig St Hill 7-5, 6-3
Semi: Dylan Hall def Kyle Dodson 6-1, 6-0
Semi: Craig St Hill def Luke Humphrey 6-2, 6-3
Final: Craig St Hill/Luke Humphrey def Zayne Hall/Gregory Hinkson 6-2, 6-3
Semi: Zayne Hall/Gregory Hinkson def Andrew Symmonds/Gavin Hutchinson 6-4, 6-4