Posted on

Three English teams for Pro Cricket camp

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Three English teams for Pro Cricket camp

Social Share

Six English county cricket teams will be taking part in the 3rd Annual Barbados Pre-Season Pro Cricket Camp which will run from March 15 to 25 with $15 000 prize money at stake.
The camp, which is organized by the Barbados Tourism Authority, incorporates The Barbados T20 Cup and The Barbados T20 Plate.
Warwickshire, current holders of the Barbados T20 Cup; losing finalists Derbyshire; Leicestershire, the current English T20 Champions; Nottinghamshire; Yorkshire and 2010 Barbados T20 Cup winners Hampshire are all on board.
The sides will be using the trip as an opportunity to play competitive cricket in preparation for the upcoming English County Championships.
They will be up against Barbados and The Combined Campuses and Colleges (CCC).
The Barbados T20 Cup, which will be day/night matches, gets underway at Kensington Oval at 4 p.m. on March 20.
The visiting county sides also boast some top names. Yorkshire’s Jonny Bairstow was named Man of the Match in England’s second T20 match against Pakistan just two weeks ago whilst playing alongside Nottinghamshire’s Samit Patel.
Current and former England players including Matthew Hoggard, Ryan Sidebottom, Chris Read, Michael Lumb, Anthony McGrath, Adil Rashid, Ajmal Shahzad, Tim Ambrose and Darren Maddy will be here, while South African bowler Claude Henderson is in the Leicestershire squad.
Also included in the squads are a number of young players in James Taylor, Joe Root, Alex Hales, Chris Woakes and Nathan Buck who are looking to break into the England team.
Matches will be played at Foursquare, Carlton, Windward, North Star and Wanderers and will be free up to the semi-finals of the Barbados Plate and Barbados Cup. There will be a charge for admission to the double finals on March 22 at Kensington Oval. (PR/SAT)