Posted on

Thompson’s toast of BARL


Thompson’s toast of BARL

Social Share

 THE NEW?CHAMPION?DRIVER of the Barbados Auto Racing League, Kurt Thompson, is looking forward to the challenges of the 2013 season.
But he is concerned that the cars used in last year’s international race meet in Guyana have not returned to Barbados.
“The new season is scheduled to start on February 10 and with our cars still in Guyana, this could be a problem.
“We are hoping that they would be back in Barbados by next week, but we will have to wait and see how things go,” the champion said.
Thompson, who drove the Lucozade Energy/ Glassesco/NKM Clothing/ Bio Beauty Day Spa/Stag Beer Honda CRX, thanked his team and sponsors for their assistance.
However, he felt that the groundwork laid by his father, former champion driver Peter “Duct Tape” Thompson, and his brother Mark, Group 2C and Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC) champion, was responsible for his good performance.
“It started for me when I was 13 years old and [my father] placed me in a car with him, and from that time until now he has been there for all us, whether in business or in motorsport,” Thompson noted.
Apart from the champion driver’s title, Thompson also grabbed the Group 3 Class 1 title, while his brother Mark won the Monster Energy Drink Gp 2C title at the wheel of the Stag Beer/Glassesco/NKM Clothing/Bio Beauty Day Spa/Local Speed/KDJ Auto Parts Starlet.
Another fancied driver among the title winners was Steve King, who drove the Valvoline/King’s Auto Parts/JEM Signage Nissan Skyline. He was responsible for the Gp 3 Class II title.
The experienced Doug Maloney in the Paints Plus/Maloney Racing Team Audi A4 Quattro won Group 4B, and Bushy Park’s overall lap record-holder Stuart Williams won the title in Group 4A.
The Monster Energy Drink Handicap winner and Group 1 champion was Anderson Roachford with a Vision Auto Shop Toyota Starlet.
Ripley Green, who drove the Hunte’s Auto Spares/Rijenotech Auto Inc. Toyota Corolla, defied the odds and made off with the title among Group 2B drivers, while Sean Russell recaptured the title in ICBL Group 2A, driving the McCarthy’s Garage Honda Civic.
Mark Maloney won the John “Tiny” Harrison Memorial Chairman’s Award for his dedication and commitment to representing club and country last year.
Group 1 driver Daniel Wiles, who drove the KDJ Auto/Chicken Pen Racing/Champion Spark Plugs Toyota Starlet during the season, won the Rookie Of The Year award.
The Mechanic Of The Year Award went to Peter Hinkson.
Special awards were given to several sponsors and well as the media.