Posted on

Bajan drivers for Rally Trinidad


Bajan drivers for Rally Trinidad

Social Share

Giant-killer Neil Armstrong, the highest-placed two-wheel-drive finisher in Sol Rally Barbados for the past two years, and regular co-driver Barry Ward are included in a list of 30 pairs for this weekend’s Rally Trinidad.
Armstrong, fresh from testing the car in Britain under the watchful eye of triple British Rally champion Mark Higgins, will be at the wheel of the Suzuki SX4 WRC for the gruelling event over two days.
It will be begin with a formal opening ceremony tonight at the Haseley Crawford Stadium before heading to the stages at Bronte and Cedar Hill tomorrow.
The competitors will return to Bronte on Sunday before finishing at stages called ‘Jack And Jill’.
Armstrong and Ward are drawn in the WRC Group along with another Barbadian driver, Dean Serrao, who will be driving a Ford Escort Cosworth WRC, but is yet to name a co-driver.
Defending champions John “Penti” Powell and Nicholas Telfer in a Subaru S14 WRC and the Jamaican pair of Jeff Panton and Mike Fennell (Jr) in a Ford Focus ’06 WRC are also entered in the event.
Another Barbadian driver, James Betts, who won the Trinidad and Tobago All Stage Rally two weeks ago with co-driver Jason Costelloe in a Mitsubishi Evo V and the pair of Harold Morley and Kreig Yearwood in a Subaru N14 are also down to face the starter.
Rally Trinidad is the premier gravel rally in the Caribbean and is the evolution of a long and proud history of rallying in the ‘Land of the Hummingbird’ with humble beginnings from the late 1980s.
This rally will challenge teams over a mixof conditions averaging more than 160 kilometres of competitive stage miles after the opening ceremony and tarmac super special to start and finish the rally.