Posted on

CPL 12-member team named

CAROL MARTINDALE, [email protected]

CPL 12-member team named

Social Share

A Limacol Caribbean Premier League squad has been selected following the staging of the inaugural LCPL, organizers announced today.The side, which includes six players from the finalists, the Jamaica Tallawahs and the Guyana Amazon Warriors, was chosen on the basis of it being balanced and capable of playing a match, said a release.The team, captained by Tallawahs opening batsman and skipper Chris Gayle, involves a playing eleven plus a twelfth man and was released in batting order.“Selections were made from performances in the tournament only; past records and reputations were not taken into consideration,” the statement said.“The captain was only selected once the side had been chosen”.The members of the team are Andre Fletcher (St. Lucia Zouks),  Chris Gayle (Jamaica Tallawahs, captain),  Lendl Simmons (Guyana Amazon Warriors), Shoaib Malik (Barbados Tridents),  James Franklin (Guyana Amazon Warriors),  Andre Russell (Jamaica Tallawahs),  Marlon Samuels (Antigua Hawksbills),  Shakib Al Hasan (Barbados Tridents),  Rayad Emrit (Barbados Tridents),   Krishmar Santokie (Guyana Amazon Warriors), Muttiah Muralitharan (Jamaica Tallawahs) and 12th man: Ashley Nurse (Barbados Tridents).“It was agreed that a minimum number of four matches had to be played by an individual in the tournament in order to be eligible for a place in the side,” said the LCPL statement.“The side was selected by a group of individuals brought together by the Limacol CPL for their knowledge and understanding of the game and their in-depth knowledge of player performances during the tournament”.The selection panel was made up of Mike Procter, the former South Africa all-rounder and a match referee in the tournament, ex-West Indies and Jamaica wicketkeeper-batsman Jeffrey Dujon, Mike Haysman, the former South Australia batsman and Craig Cozier, a journalist with extensive regional and international experience.Billy Bowden, Nigel Duguid, Joel Wilson and Danesh Ramdhanie – all umpires who have officiated in Limacol CPL- were also part of the panel.The Limacol Caribbean Premier League took place between 30 July and 24 August and involved six franchises from across the region.The Jamaica Tallawahs beat the Guyana Amazon Warriors by seven wickets in the final, played at the Queen’s Park Oval in Trinidad. (CMC)