Posted on

Chance to rise

SHERRYLYN CLARKE, [email protected]

Chance to rise

Social Share

DUBAI, United Arab Emirates (AP) – The winners of the Intercontinental Cup for non-Test playing nations will get a chance to earn test status from 2018 under new plans announced by the International Cricket Council on Thursday.
The winners of the 2017 Cup and the world’s lowest-ranked Test team will play two matches of five days each on a home and away basis in a new series called the ICC Test Challenge. Starting in 2018, it will be held every four years.
If the Cup holders beat the test side, the former ICC associate member will become the 11th Test-playing nation – with the losers still retaining their Test status.
Meanwhile, the board also decided to keep the same format for the 2016 World Twenty20 in India after successfully organizing the event in Bangladesh.