Posted on

More travel bans


More travel bans

Social Share

KINGSTON (AP) — Jamaica, Guyana and Trinidad & Tobago on Thursday became the latest countries in the Western Hemisphere to restrict travellers from West African nations struggling with an epidemic of the Ebola virus.

The announcements came a day after Colombia and St Lucia ordered similar prohibitions.

Authorities in Jamaica imposed an immediate entry ban on anyone who has been in Guinea, Liberia and Sierra Leone within four weeks.

The ban was announced shortly after a US couple was quarantined at Sangster International Airport in the northern tourist town of Montego Bay. Airport screeners found one of the Americans had been in Liberia two weeks ago. Officials said the couple was kept in quarantine, found to be healthy, and then sent back to an unspecified city in the US.

Guyana’s government said that country’s diplomatic missions had been directed not to issue visas to people from West African nations affected by the virus.

Trinidad & Tobago said it would deny entry to any resident of Guinea, Liberia, Nigeria, Democratic Republic of Congo or Sierra Leone. Other travellers who have visited any of those nations within six weeks will be quarantined for 21 days upon their arrival.