Posted on

Trio of young players to the Pride

SHERRYLYN TOPPIN, [email protected]

Trio of young players to the Pride

Social Share

BARBADOS PRIDE picked a trio of young cricketers at the 2015 WICB Professional Cricket League (PCL) Draft, held today at the Accra Beach Hotel in Christ Church.

The Pride started with opener Omar Phillips and middle order batsman Kevin Stoute, both of whom represented the island last season in First-Class cricket.

They followed those up with Hayden Walsh Jr, Preston McSween and Barbadian Justin Greaves.

Walsh Jr is a 23-year-old left hand bat, right arm off break bowler who was born in St Croix and has played for the Leeward Islands. McSween is a 19-year-old Grenadian who has played for the Windwards and West Indies Under-19s.

Greaves, 21, represented Combermere, Barbados Under-19 and West Indies Under-19s. He is a right hand batsman/bowler.

This year’s rules mandate that teams choose at least two players from outside of the home territory and several Barbadians found homes with other Franchises.

Kyle Hope was snapped up by Trinidad and Tobago Red Force in the first round and Jamaica chose former captain Kirk Edwards right after. Kevin McClean also went to Windward Islands in the first round and was later joined by Kyle Mayers.

Guyana Jaguars chose Javon Searles in the third round, but also picked up an unexpected player in Ryan Hinds, who was the very last cricketer taken. Guyana had misinterpreted the rules and only had one overseas player since Raymon Reifer was protected. The auditors pointed out the discrepancy and Kandasammy Surujnarine was replaced by Hinds.

Tino Best, Rashidi Boucher, Antonio Greenidge, Chaim Holder, Jerome Jones and Kenroy Williams were not picked.


Barbados Pride

Protected players: Carlos Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Kyle Corbin, Miguel Cummins, Shane Dowrich, Ashley Nurse, Shai Hope, Jomel Warrican.

Draft: Omar Phillips, Kevin Stoute, Hayden Walsh Jr, Preston McSween, Justin Greaves,.

Guyana Jaguars:

Protected players: Christopher Barnwell, Ronsford Beaton, Devendra Bishoo, Anthony Bramble, Rajendra Chandrika, Assad Fudadin, Shimron Hetmyer, Veerasammy Permaul, Raymon Reifer, Vishaul Singh.

Draft: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Paul Wintz, Javon Searles, Keon Joseph, Ryan Hinds.

Jamaica Franchise

Protected players: Dave Bernard Jr, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Dawes, Nicholson Gordon, Damion Jacobs, Brandon King, Tamar Lambert, Nikita Miller, Marquino Mindley.

Draft: Kirk Edwards, Trevor Griffith, Carlton Baugh Jr, Shacaya Thomas, Paul Palmer.

Leeward Islands Hurricanes

Protected players: Quinton Boatswain, Kacey Carty, Rahkeem Cornwall, Alzarri Joseph, Steve Liburd, Orlando Peters, Sherwin Peters, Jacques Taylor, Devon Thomas, Gavin Tonge.

Draft: Narsingh Deonarine, Darren Cruickshank, Nelson Bolan, Colin Hamer, Shane Jeffers.

Trinidad & Tobago Red Force

Protected players: Yannick Cariah, Kevon Cooper, Rayad Emrit, Steven Katwaroo, Imran Khan, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Kjorn Ottley, Ravi Rampaul, Marlon Richards.

Draft: Kyle Hope, Akeal Hosein, Yannic Ottley, Nkrumah Bonner, Jeremy Solozano,

Windward Islands Volcanoes

Protected players: Sunil Ambris, Alston Bobb, Johnson Charles, Andre Fletcher, Mervin Matthew, Kenroy Peters, Liam Sebastien, Shane Shillingford, Devon Smith, Tyrone Theophile.

Draft: Delorn Johnson, Kevin McClean, Keddy Lesporis, Kyle Mayers, Dalton Polius. (SAT)