Posted on

WICB names Tri-Nation squad


WICB names Tri-Nation squad

Social Share

ST JOHN’S – West Indies selectors have named Kieron Pollard in a 14-man squad for next month’s Tri-Nations Series, ending the Trinidadian all-rounder’s near two-year exile from the regional squad.

In a release late Wednesday, West Indies Cricket Board selectors also announced the inclusion of off-spinner Sunil Narine for his first international tournament since he was banned last November by the International Cricket Council for an illegal bowling action.

Off-spinner Ashley Nurse, uncapped in One-Day Internationals, has been called up along with fast bowler Shannon Gabriel who has also never played an ODI.

However, no room has been found for the quartet of Chris Gayle, Andre Russell, Dwayne Bravo and Darren Sammy, all of whom were members of the successful Twenty20 World Cup squad in India last month.

The WICB’s eligibility rule requires players to make themselves available for the Regional Super50 series in January, if they are to qualify for selection to the ODI squad.

As expected, Jason Holder will lead the side for the series which runs from June 3 to 26 in Guyana, St Kitts and Nevis and Barbados, and involves World champions Australia and South Africa.

Squad – Jason Holder (captain), Kieron Pollard, Shannon Gabriel, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Carlos Brathwaite, Sulieman Benn, Jonathan Carter, Andre Fletcher, Sunil Narine, Ashley Nurse, Denesh Ramdin, Marlon Samuels, Jerome Taylor. (CMC)