Posted on

National Development, Commonwealth scholars announced

ALEX DOWNES, [email protected]

National Development, Commonwealth scholars announced

Social Share

THIS YEAR, THERE are six National Development Scholarship winners and one Commonwealth Scholar.

The list of winners was announced this morning by Minister of Education Ronald Jones at the ministry’s main conference room.

Cherisse Francis is the Commonwealth Scholar while the National Development Scholars are Matthew Banfield, Peter Bernstein, Rosanna Lewis, Dawn-Marie Armstrong, Natalia Brathwaite and Hallan Connell.

Jones said the scholarships were offered in subjects considered to be areas of need to the country including forensic accounting, sports psychology, music and clinical neuropsychology.

He encouraged the scholars to remain focused as they embarked on their various studies.

Meanwhile, National Development Scholarship chairman and deputy chief education officer for schools Joy Adamson encouraged the winners to be an ambassador for Barbados while overseas. (AD)