Posted on

Silver Muse makes inaugural call


Silver Muse makes inaugural call

Social Share

The Port of Bridgetown has been graced with many impressive ships over the past few months. Among the latest to dock was Silver Muse, one of eight cruise liners in Silversea Cruises’ fleet. The Italian-owned 11-deck luxury cruise ship, based out of Monaco, is the largest ship built for Silversea Cruises.

Speaking at the official inaugural ceremony and plaque exchange, Captain Marco Sangiacomo expressed how pleased he was to visit Barbados and thanked the management and staff of the Barbados Port Inc. (BPI) for their warm hospitality. Those sentiments were conveyed moments before he presented BPI’s manager of terminal operations, Ian Stewart, with a token of appreciation on behalf of Silver Muse.

“The journey here has been an exciting experience for me thus far, I love the island. Our passengers always enjoy traveling to a warmer climate, especially our British passengers, and Barbados has always been a top destination as it offers excellent facilities,” Captain Sangiacomo said.

Stewart welcomed the captain presenting him with a plaque crafted from Barbadian mahogany commemorating the visit.

“BPI is always elated to welcome new cruise liners to the Port of Bridgetown and to Barbados, and Silver Muse is no exception. We are indeed honoured to have you here. We certainly value your business and commend you on the exceptional quality of your vessel and the service you offer your guests. Thank you for including the Port of Bridgetown in your itinerary, and we look forward to seeing more of you in the future,” Stewart said. 

Silver Muse, which first set sail in May 2017, has the capacity to accommodate 596 guests and 411 crew members. The vessel offers guests the highest number of large suites in the Silversea fleet, eight dining options, a state-of-the-art theatre, spas, and outdoor lounges. 

The ship is on a 12-day cruise from Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Silver Muse’s other ports of call include Castries, St Lucia; Bequia, St Vincent and Grenadines; St George’s, Grenada; Kralendijk, Bonaire; and Willemstad, Curacao. (PR)